BLOG

Google Sites and Content Management System

May 11, 2022

Google Sites has a built-in content management system (CMS) that lets you see revision histories and revert to previous versions.


This is convenient because content management systems help you control your site. It means having the ability to update, change or delete any images, text, video or audio - really anything at all! And it's so easy and organized too.


You can restore a single page or an entire site. Here’s how.


How to Restore a Page


Step 1. Hover to the ‘Three Dot’ menu icon on the top right corner of your Google Sites and select the first option ‘Version history’ from the drop down options.

Step 2. You will see the list of versions of the site on the right sidebar: choose the version you wish to restore.

Step 3. On top of the page, click the ‘Restore this page version’ button.

Step 4. The Google Sites will ask you if you want to restore this version: click 'Restore page' if it's the right version; click 'Cancel' if it's the wrong one.


You will be notified that the page has been restored by Google Sites.

Google Sites Version History
Google Sites Restore this page version popup

How to revert to the previous version of a Google Sites.


Step 1. Hover to the ‘Three Dot’ menu icon on the top right corner of your Google Sites and select the first option ‘Version history’ from the drop down options.

Step 2. Choose the version of your site that you want to restore and revert to from the list of versions.

Step 3. Choose ‘Restore this version’ button > click ‘Restore’ and the site will restore that version of the site.


Version history preserves all revisions of the site after the version you restore to, so you won't lose those changes and can revert back to those revisions at any time.

Google Sites Version History list options
Google Sites Restore this version popup

Restore deleted content of Google Sites.


Step 1. Hover to the ‘Three Dot’ menu icon on the top right corner of your Google Sites and select the first option ‘Version history’ from the drop down options.

Step 2. Look for the version of your site that contains the deleted content you want to restore.

Step 3. Click the ‘Three Dot’ button next to the version name/date on the right.

Step 4. Make a copy of the site at that time by selecting the 'Make a copy' option.

Step 5. Copy the deleted content from this version and paste it into the original site.



Name your own version in Google Sites.


If you prefer, you can name a version of the new Google site any name you want. Click the ‘Three Dot’ button in the version list page and choose Name this version, then enter the name you want for the site version.



Do you like our article? Would you like to donate so we can provide more informative content?
Any amount is welcome. Click
here to donate.